Link to ARC home page.

Basic Agency Grant Management


ARC funds approximately 100 construction projects across the Appalachian Region each year. These projects are administered and managed by federal and state agencies—called basic agencies—under formal agreements with ARC.

What Do Basic Agencies Do?
News and Events

ARC State Basic Agency Network Calls and Training


Following the first ARC State Basic Agency training session in March 2017, ARC is holding regular conference calls with the basic agency representatives. These calls are scheduled approximately once every 2–3 months and are open to all State Basic Agency staff and ARC program offices. The calls provide an opportunity for State Basic Agencies to share information and resources related to project administration. The next in-person ARC State Basic Agency training session will be offered in spring 2018.
For more information about the network calls or training, email Julie Lawhorn at jlawhorn@arc.gov
Contact ARC
Contact your state's basic agency coordinator for ques- tions or technical assistance:
Alabama, Ohio, Tennessee

Julie Lawhorn: jlawhorn@arc.gov
Georgia, Pennsylvania, Virginia

Chris Brazell: cbrazell@arc.gov
Kentucky, South Carolina, West Virginia

Catherine Feerick: cfeerick@arc.gov
Maryland, North Carolina

Mark DeFalco: mdefalco@arc.gov
Mississippi, New York

Sara James: sjames@arc.gov
Have other questions?

ARCnet Technical Questions

Candace Stribling: cstribling@arc.gov
Construction Project Inquiries

Molly Theobald: mtheobald@arc.gov
State-Specific Project Questions

Contact your state ARC program manager

In their roles as administrative agents, compliance monitors,
and fiscal agents, basic agencies:
  • Serve as fiscal agents to ARC construction grant recipients;
  • Submit an annual report on each project every fiscal year;
  • Certify that the grantee is in compliance with the federal laws and regulations;
  • Certify that payment requests reflect actual work completed; and
  • Certify progress towards performance measures.

Core Basic Agency Functions
ADMIN
AGENT
•  Provide basic agency letters
•  Offer NTP and other notices
•  Certify project completion level
•  Provide annual project status report (BAMR)
COMPLIANCE
MONITOR
•  Oversee NEPA environmental review
•  Monitor compliance with Davis Bacon, other
    federal laws
•  Others—see Construction Assurances, Grant
   Agreement, ARC Grant Administration Manual
FISCAL
AGENT
•  Receive ARC funds on behalf of grantee
•  Disburse payments on a project completion
   basis
•  Return any unspent ARC funds

ARC is currently partnering with 4 federal basic agencies and 13 state basic agencies.

To administer ARC construction projects, a state agency must first register with ARC to become a registered state basic agency (RSBA).

Basic Agency Resources