Link to ARC home page.

ARC Announces Winners of Grant Competition for Community-Based Substance Abuse Initiatives

June 2011


WASHINGTON, June 2, 2011—The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) announced this week the winners of its 2011 Competition for Community-Based Substance Abuse Initiatives. The winners include 30 grassroots community groups that will receive training, technical assistance, and $5,000 grants for expanded efforts to combat substance abuse in their local communities.

An ARC-funded study conducted by the National Opinion Research Center in 2008 showed that the Appalachian Region suffers from disproportionately high rates of substance use and abuse, including increasing abuse of prescription painkillers. To address this issue, ARC launched the Competition for Community-Based Substance Abuse Initiatives, targeted at local substance abuse coalitions. Sixty community coalitions from across the Region submitted applications. A panel of experts then chose 30 groups for participation in the program.

Representatives from each group will attend a training conference to share information on, and design local projects to address, community substance abuse issues. Each group will finalize a project work plan at the conference's conclusion and will then have nine months to complete project activities.

The winning coalitions include:

  • Partnership for a Drug Free DeKalb County, DeKalb County, AL
  • Carter County Drug Task Force, Carter County, KY
  • Clinton County KY-ASAP Board, Clinton County, KY
  • Estill County Prescription Abuse Prevention Coalition, Estill County, KY
  • Hart County Champions Coalition, Hart County, KY
  • Lewis County Kentucky Recovery Coalition, Lewis County, KY
  • Magoffin Local Board for KY-ASAP, Magoffin County, KY
  • Monroe County CARES, Monroe County, KY
  • Recovery in Progress, Winston County, MS
  • Burke Substance Abuse Network (BSAN), Burke County, NC
  • Coalition for a Safe and Drug Free Cherokee County, Cherokee County, NC
  • Community Engagement Team, Rutherford County, NC
  • Allegany Council on Alcoholism and Substance Abuse, Allegany County, NY
  • Pike County Summit on Children, Pike County, OH
  • Scioto County Rx Drug Action Team, Scioto County, OH
  • Vinton County Drug Abuse Coalition, Vinton County, OH
  • Cherokee Action for a Safer Tomorrow (CAST), Cherokee County, SC
  • Clay County Anti-Drug Coalition, Clay County, TN
  • Hancock County Substance Abuse Coalition, Hancock County, TN
  • Community Prevention Coalition of Jackson County, Jackson County, TN
  • Monroe County Alcohol and Drug Task Force/Monroe County Health Council, Monroe County, TN
  • ICARE–Union County, Union County, TN
  • Appalachian Substance Abuse Coalition for Prevention and Treatment, Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Tazewell, Washington, and Wise Counties, VA, and the Cities of Bristol and Norton
  • Dickenson County Partners Coalition, Dickenson County, VA
  • Twin County Prevention Coalition, Carroll and Grayson Counties, VA, and the City of Galax
  • Barbour County Community Partnership, Barbour County, WV
  • Health Opportunities for Positive Education Coalition, McDowell County, WV
  • STOP Coalition, Mingo County, WV
  • Pocahontas County Drug Abuse Prevention Advisory Group, Pocahontas County, WV
  • Taylor County Family Resource Network, Taylor County, WV
The 2011 Competition for Community-Based Substance Abuse Initiatives is a cooperative effort of the Appalachian Regional Commission and East Tennessee State University's Office of Rural and Community Health and Community Partnerships.