Link to ARC home page.

Seven Appalachian Communities Develop “Livable Communities” Action Plans

July 2013


Seven towns in the Appalachian Region have created action plans for addressing local development challenges through their participation in the Livable Communities technical assistance program provided by ARC and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), with support from the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development.

The towns were selected in June 2012 for the technical assistance program, which focuses on the revitalization of traditional downtowns as healthy, walkable, and economically vibrant places as a means of boosting the local economy and improving the quality of life for residents. Representatives from each town worked with small-town-development experts through the program to create action plans that make use of sustainable and smart-growth approaches.

Action plans for the participating towns are available below. ARC and EPA will offer a second round of Livable Communities technical assistance for Appalachian communities in 2013. For more information, contact Ed Fendley in the EPA Office of Sustainable Communities at or Wilson Paine in the ARC Office of the Federal Co-Chair at