Link to ARC home page.



FIPS: Federal Information Processing Standard codes used to uniquely identify counties and states when performing database analyses.

Appalachian Subregion: Contiguous regions of relatively homogeneous characteristics (topography, demographics, and economics) within Appalachia. This classification was developed in the early history of the Appalachian Regional Commission and provides a basis for subregional analysis. ARC revised the classification in November 2009 by dividing the Region into smaller parts for greater analytical detail and by using current economic and transportation data. The five subregions include Northern, North Central, Central, South Central, and Southern Appalachia.

Metropolitan Area: The metropolitan area in which the county resides. Counties outside of metropolitan areas are classified as "non-metropolitan." The Office of Management and Budget develops the metropolitan classification using standards applied to U.S. Census Bureau data.
Source: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 2000.

Land Area (square miles), 2000: Total land area in square miles as of April 1, 2000.
Source: U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau, Census of Population and Housing, 2000 Summary File 3.

Compiled by the Appalachian Regional Commission, November 2009.