Empowering Faith Leaders to Help Persons with Substance Use Disorder

  • December 8, 2020 - April 30, 2021
  • Organizer(s):
    • Office of National Drug Control Policy

The Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) has organized a series of four workshops for rural faith leaders to come together to discuss, learn, and share information and resources to help individuals with substance use disorder (SUD). Each workshop will have a specific focus to assist all houses of worship to position themselves to be both first responders and communities of hope and support for people and families struggling with addiction.

The main objectives of the workshop series include:

  • Increasing faith leaders’ understanding of substance use disorder (SUD) and how to connect faith to prevention, treatment, and recovery.
  • Building capacity of faith leaders to take action by providing information to prepare and ready leaders and their congregants to provide the support needed to assist individuals with substance use disorder.
  • Helping faith leaders to find their lane and empower faith communities to put initiatives in place to help in the area(s) where they can make the most difference.

Registration

This workshop is free. If you would like to attend the event, please RSVP to Betty-Ann Bryce by emailing your name, title, organization and contact information to MBX.ONDCP.RuralAffairs@ondcp.eop.gov. Registered participants will receive the details to join the webinar closer to the event date.

A recording and transcript of the workshop will be available on the Rural Community Toolbox website after the event.

Workshops

Workshop 1: Substance Use Disorder and the Pandemic in Rural Communities

Date: Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Time: 10:00 a.m. Pacific, 11:00 a.m. Mountain, 12:00 p.m. Central, 1:00 p.m. Eastern
Duration: Approximately 90 minutes

This workshop will focus on:

  • Understanding the intersecting epidemics of opioid misuse/abuse and COVID-19 in rural areas
  • Economic impacts of substance use disorder on small communities before and during the pandemic
  • Using data to understand the problem in your community
  • Helping faith-based and community leaders bring hope and healing to our communities
  • Congregation readiness and preparing the faith community to help

Workshop 2: Prevention Education and Connecting Faith to Prevention

Date: Tentatively scheduled for February 2021

Workshop 3: Understanding Treatment and Connecting Faith to Treatment

Date: Tentatively scheduled for March 2021

Workshop 4: Supporting Recovery and Connecting Faith to Recovery

Date: Tentatively scheduled for April 2021