About the Appalachian Regional Commission

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is an economic development partnership entity of the federal government and 13 state governments focusing on 423 counties across the Appalachian Region. ARC’s mission is to innovate, partner, and invest to build community capacity and strengthen economic growth in Appalachia to help the Region achieve socioeconomic parity with the nation.

Courtesy National Archives

ARC’s History and Work in Appalachia

Since 1965, the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) has invested with local, regional, and state partners to transform Appalachian communities, create jobs, and strengthen the regional economy.

Image Courtesy of National Archives

ARC’s Structure and Leadership

ARC’s leadership includes the governors from each of the 13 Appalachian states and a Federal Co-Chair who is appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. ARC staff supports regional economic growth in partnership with state staff and other local officials.

Stay Updated on ARC’s Operations, News, and Events

Information about ARC’s mission and work to positively impact the economic development of the Region can be found here.

Careers at ARC

ARC offers career opportunities in grant management, communications, finance, human resources, technology, and research and other specialties.