About the Appalachian Region

Appalachia is made up of 423 counties across 13 states and spans 206,000 square miles, from southern New York to northern Mississippi. The Region’s 26 million residents live in parts of Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia, and all of West Virginia.

Appalachia Then and Now

Since 1965, ARC has made approximately 28,000 targeted investments and invested more than $4.5 billion in the Region, which has been matched by over $10 billion in other federal, state, and local funding sources.

While significant improvements have been made in key economic factors such as poverty, per capita income, and high school graduation rates, Appalachia still lags behind the rest of the nation on average. In order for the Region to recover from economic disruptions, address the substance abuse crisis, and attract additional investment, more work is needed.

Share of Population 25 Years and Older with a Bachelor’s Degree or More
Percent of Population in Poverty
Per Capital Personal Income in 2019 Dollars

The Chartbook

The Appalachian Region: A Data Overview from the 2015-2019 American Community Survey, also known as “The Chartbook,” draws from the most recent American Community Survey and comparable Census Population Estimates. The report contains over 300,000 data points about Appalachia’s demographics, income, and employment, as well as education, computer access, housing, and more—all presented at regional, subregional, state, and county levels.

Appalachian States

The Appalachian Region consists of 13 states, from southern New York to northern Mississippi. Access contact information, research, data and more for each one.

Appalachian Counties Served by ARC

From southern New York to northern Mississippi, ARC’s footprint spans includes 423 counties across 13 states. Explore the full list of Appalachian counties.

Economic Distress in Appalachian Counties

Every year, ARC applies an index-based system to classify each county in the nation according to its level of economic distress. These status designations play a key role in ARC grant awards and show how local economies are trending over time.